Sorry for Your Loss

By Jessie Ann Foley,

Book cover of Sorry for Your Loss

Book description

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner.

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. He lets…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Sorry for Your Loss as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The first thing I loved about this book is main character, Pup. He’s the youngest of eight siblings and is trying to navigate the murky waters of adolescence in addition to his grief over the loss of an older brother. Unlike a lot of boys in YA, Pup isn’t particularly smart, talented, attractive, or socially skilled. He’s a “regular guy” in ways that I found incredibly refreshing and endearing. I also haven’t read a lot of YA novels about big families and I loved reading about the complex dynamics here. Pup’s journey toward healing and growth involves photography, and this…

Want books like Sorry for Your Loss?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 78 books like Sorry for Your Loss.

Browse books like Sorry for Your Loss

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in brothers, photography, and death?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about brothers, photography, and death.

Brothers Explore 100 books about brothers
Photography Explore 44 books about photography
Death Explore 333 books about death