Pizza Girl

By Jean Kyoung Frazier,

Book cover of Pizza Girl

Book description

Named a Vogue, Esquire, NPR, Marie Claire, and Refinery29 Best Book of the Year. Perfect for fans of Normal People and Fleabag

Great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit' Richard Ford

A moving story about an unforgettable young woman trying to find…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Pizza Girl as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The logline sounds like the most depressing character study you’ll ever read. A story of a pregnant teenager, Jane, who lives with her mom after the death of her father. Jane spends her days delivering pizzas and her nights drinking beers alone in a shed behind their house. But thanks to the prose, and the pacing of the plotting, this book is both funny, engaging, and something of a psychological thriller. Especially when Jane becomes obsessed with one of her regulars, a stay-at-home mom. We marveled at Kyoung Frazier’s ability to put us in the head of Jane, in a…

Jean Kyoung Frazier has done something so remarkable with this novel - she's managed to write a book with no villains in it, but also no "good guys." The narrator of Pizza Girl is, you guessed it, an 18-year-old pizza delivery girl in Los Angeles. Her father has recently died, she’s pregnant, and her boyfriend is living with her and her mom. Both of them really excited about the baby—our narrator is not. When she encounters a stay-at-home mom named Jenny during one of her deliveries, our narrator finds herself with a powerful and confusing crush. Although brief (and hard…

From Ilana's list on fiction about queer millennials.

Want books like Pizza Girl?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Pizza Girl.

Browse books like Pizza Girl

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in coming of age, bildungsroman, and teenage pregnancy?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about coming of age, bildungsroman, and teenage pregnancy.

Coming Of Age Explore 1,248 books about coming of age
Bildungsroman Explore 301 books about bildungsroman
Teenage Pregnancy Explore 10 books about teenage pregnancy