Into the Raging Sea

By Rachel Slade,

Book cover of Into the Raging Sea: Thirty-Three Mariners, One Megastorm, and the Sinking of El Faro

Book description

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air, Rachel Slade's Into the Raging Sea is a nail-biting account of the sinking of the container ship El Faro, the crew of thirty-three who perished onboard, and the destructive forces of globalisation that put the ship in harm's way.…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Into the Raging Sea as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

In most nautical disaster stories, we’re left to speculate what went through the minds of the victims as their fates unfolded. However, when the container ship El Faro steamed into the teeth of a hurricane in 2015, the voices of its crew were captured for posterity on a shipboard “black box” which was later recovered by divers. Author Rachel Slade was able to accurately reconstruct the fatal combination of bad luck, outdated technology, and outright hubris that brought this huge ship and its crew to their terrible end. A fascinating account of maritime disaster in the modern age. 

From John's list on disaster & survival.

Want books like Into the Raging Sea?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 85 books like Into the Raging Sea.

Browse books like Into the Raging Sea

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in search and rescue, shipwrecks, and the Atlantic Ocean?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about search and rescue, shipwrecks, and the Atlantic Ocean.

Search And Rescue Explore 15 books about search and rescue
Shipwrecks Explore 27 books about shipwrecks
The Atlantic Ocean Explore 58 books about the Atlantic Ocean