The Secret World of Connie Starr

By Robbi Neal,

Book cover of The Secret World of Connie Starr

Book description

A stunning evocation of Australian life through the war to the 1950s, this novel is intimate and sweeping, immediate and dreamlike - a magical rendering of darkness and joy, and the beauty inherent in difference. For readers of Sarah Winman's Still Life, Trent Dalton's All Our Shimmering Skies and Rosalie…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Secret World of Connie Starr as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This novel totally swept me away.

Often while I was reading, it felt like I was right there, in the Australian town of Ballarat, a part of a small community as everyone’s lives are being reshaped by a war raging across the world.

Connie Starr is a watchful misfit of a child who lives in a dream world. But this is as much a story about the people who surround Connie – parents and siblings, neighbours and friends – and the way their lives intertwine. We rarely witness any violent acts of war in this novel.

Instead, it is focused…

From Nicky's list on all the feels.

Want books like The Secret World of Connie Starr?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The Secret World of Connie Starr.

Browse books like The Secret World of Connie Starr

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Polio, lemons, and presidential biography?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Polio, lemons, and presidential biography.

Polio Explore 19 books about Polio
Lemons Explore 9 books about lemons
Presidential Biography Explore 19 books about presidential biography