The New Breed

By Kate Darling,

Book cover of The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots

Book description

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots―inspired by how we interact with animals―could be the key to making our future with robot technology work

There has been a lot of ink…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked The New Breed as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Our relationships with living beings like plants and animals may influence the way we treat other sorts of life—or “life”—we encounter in the future, including the artificial life we create. It’s probably prudent to consider what those relationships should look like, now, before we begin engaging with AI or aliens lacking a clear sense of how to behave toward them.

Want books like The New Breed?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The New Breed.

Browse books like The New Breed

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in robots, artificial intelligence, and dystopia?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about robots, artificial intelligence, and dystopia.

Robots Explore 61 books about robots
Artificial Intelligence Explore 126 books about artificial intelligence
Dystopia Explore 243 books about dystopia