The Girls Are All So Nice Here

By Laurie Elizabeth Flynn,

Book cover of The Girls Are All So Nice Here

Book description

'Gone Girl meets Mean Girls and The Secret History' Guardian

A darkly intoxicating novel of female friendship and obsession that will keep you turning the pages, perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa and The Virgin Suicides

-----------------

Nice girls can do bad things...

When Ambrosia first arrives at prestigious…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked The Girls Are All So Nice Here as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The Girls Are All So Nice Here uses one of my favorite literary devices: dual timelines.

We bounce back and forth between Ambrosia (Amb) Wellington’s freshman year of college and her ten-year college reunion, where she is confronted by the secrets she has been keeping for the last decade. I’m a sucker for dark academia, and this book’s setting felt so real, it could have been my own alma mater.

Sticking with the theme of facing past traumas, The Girls Are All So Nice Here is an unsettling yet compelling look into Ambrosia’s time at a prestigious college. When she gets an invite to a college reunion all her secrets threaten to come out. And there are plenty of those! But it’s the relationship she has with Sully that I find most fascinating. Ambrosia will go to any lengths to impress Sully but the relationship quickly becomes toxic. Thankfully my university reunion won’t be nearly as noteworthy as the most I ever did to try and impress anyone was buy…

Want books like The Girls Are All So Nice Here?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 93 books like The Girls Are All So Nice Here.

Browse books like The Girls Are All So Nice Here

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the United Kingdom, Europe, and Broadway musicals?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the United Kingdom, Europe, and Broadway musicals.

The United Kingdom Explore 564 books about the United Kingdom
Europe Explore 908 books about Europe
Broadway Musicals Explore 150 books about Broadway musicals