The Codebreakers

By Alli Sinclair,

Book cover of The Codebreakers

Book description

They will dedicate their lives to their country, but no one will ever know...

A compelling story about tenacity and friendship, inspired by the real codebreaking women of Australia's top-secret Central Bureau in WWII. For readers who love Judy Nunn and Kate Quinn.


1943, Brisbane: The war continues to devastate…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked The Codebreakers as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The Codebreakers is based on real events and tells the little-known story of the young Australian women who worked with Central Bureau in Brisbane, during the Second World War. Ellie O’Sullivan is recruited from her aviation engineering job to decipher enemy communications. It quickly becomes evident that what happens on the home front – especially in intelligence services – is as important in deciding the outcome of the conflict as are soldiers, aeroplanes, and tanks. If Ellie misses an important code, it could cost thousands of Allied lives. What struck me most about Ellie and her colleagues was how young…

From Belinda's list on women in WW2.

Want books like The Codebreakers?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The Codebreakers.

Browse books like The Codebreakers

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in World War 2, Bletchley Park, and Germany?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about World War 2, Bletchley Park, and Germany.

World War 2 Explore 1050 books about World War 2
Bletchley Park Explore 9 books about Bletchley Park
Germany Explore 320 books about Germany