Stay

By Bobbie Pyron,

Book cover of Stay

Book description

Fans of Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she’s determined to reunite with his family, now available in paperback.

Piper’s life is turned upside down when her family moves into a shelter in a…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Stay as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

I love Stay because it is about a dog and a serious topic that affects a lot of families-homelessness.

The book is narrated by a young girl named Piper whose family has fallen on hard times. Piper lives in a homeless shelter with her mom, dad, and younger brother.

The other narrator is a little dog called Baby. Baby lives with his person, Jewel in a nearby park since the shelter doesn’t allow pets. When Jewel develops pneumonia and is hospitalized, it’s up to Piper to save Baby and help Jewel get back on her feet.

Want books like Stay?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Stay.

Browse books like Stay

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in dogs, homeless people, and friendships?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about dogs, homeless people, and friendships.

Dogs Explore 402 books about dogs
Homeless People Explore 23 books about homeless people
Friendships Explore 1,419 books about friendships