Rescue at Lake Wild

By Terry Lynn Johnson,

Book cover of Rescue at Lake Wild

Book description

In this funny and moving animals-in-peril adventure, a twelve-year-old girl and her two best friends determine to rescue two orphaned beaver kits - and soon find themselves trying to solve a local environmental crisis. Perfect for fans of Pax and A Boy Called Bat. Everyone knows that twelve-year-old Madison "Madi"…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Rescue at Lake Wild as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

When I was a kid, I wanted to rescue animals. I remember taking crabs home from the beach in milk cartons. Sadly, they didn’t make it – nor did they need rescuing in the first place. 12-year-old Madi Lewis is a savvier rescuer, an “animal whisperer” trained by her late grandmother, an animal rehabber, to keep careful records and do basic caretaking. But Madi’s parents have made it clear: no more foster animals. When Madi and her friends find two orphaned beaver kits in a dam, she has to keep it a secret – hard to do as they uncover…

From Diana's list on young environmentalists.

Want books like Rescue at Lake Wild?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Rescue at Lake Wild.

Browse books like Rescue at Lake Wild

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in animal rescue, animal habitats, and wildlife conservation?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about animal rescue, animal habitats, and wildlife conservation.

Animal Rescue Explore 22 books about animal rescue
Animal Habitats Explore 27 books about animal habitats
Wildlife Conservation Explore 24 books about wildlife conservation