One-Shot Harry

By Gary Phillips,

Book cover of One-Shot Harry

Book description

Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips’s riveting mystery about an African American crime scene photographer seeking justice for a friend—perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos.

LOS ANGELES, 1963: Korean War veteran Harry Ingram earns a living…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked One-Shot Harry as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This historical novel takes place in 1963 Los Angeles. Harry Ingram is an African American Korean War veteran, news/forensic photographer, and process server. Ingram arrives at a scene to photograph a deadly automobile accident. He recognizes the vehicle. It belongs to an old army buddy. Ingram sees evidence of foul play when he develops his photos of the accident. He is compelled to investigate. With Martin Luther King Jr’s Freedom Rally just around the corner, racial tensions are running high. Ingram dives headlong into the sordid underbelly of LA. Armed primarily with his camera and wits Ingram tangles with gangsters,…

From Michael's list on African American mysteries.

Want books like One-Shot Harry?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like One-Shot Harry.

Browse books like One-Shot Harry

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in African Americans, Los Angeles, and California?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about African Americans, Los Angeles, and California.

African Americans Explore 735 books about African Americans
Los Angeles Explore 328 books about Los Angeles
California Explore 366 books about California