Night Film

By Marisha Pessl,

Book cover of Night Film

Book description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

3 authors picked Night Film as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

I love a book where neither the reader nor the protagonist knows what’s real and what is not. Night Film reads like a nightmarish fairytale. Scott Mcgrath, the investigative journalist at the center of the novel, brings you along on a journey that is as much about his inner demons as it is about the mystery he is hoping to solve.

I love a damaged protagonist. Maybe because I have experienced significant trauma in my life, I easily relate to those faking sanity despite the chaos in their brains. The last couple of chapters are my favorites. If this book…

From Ricardo's list on those who love a good nightmare.

This mystery thriller sought to blur the lines between traditional books and multimedia presentations, and in doing so, made the story feel differently real. Photos, maps, websites, and an actual app to open up additional content make it a story that you journey through rather than absorb. The intricacy of it all makes it one that should be a must-read for those who want to try something a little different.

From Matt's list on creepy stories told in unique ways.

Night Film is a great example of impactful mixed media storytelling. It is a cult horror novel about a journalist’s obsession with a cult horror director. By combining mixed media ‘found objects’ like film posters, interviews, and newspaper articles with the main character’s narration, the novel achieves a high level of suspense as the reader is fully immersed into this dark ghostly world. I admire this book because it speaks to my own love for dark, cult movies; and I believe it is also a great learning text for all writers who want to develop their own mixed media storytelling…

From Katya's list on horror with mixed media format.

Want books like Night Film?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 85 books like Night Film.

Browse books like Night Film

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in suicide, investigative journalism, and New York State?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about suicide, investigative journalism, and New York State.

Suicide Explore 170 books about suicide
Investigative Journalism Explore 26 books about investigative journalism
New York State Explore 693 books about New York State