Night Film

By Marisha Pessl,

Book cover of Night Film

Book description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious…

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

2 authors picked Night Film as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This mystery thriller sought to blur the lines between traditional books and multimedia presentations, and in doing so, made the story feel differently real. Photos, maps, websites, and an actual app to open up additional content make it a story that you journey through rather than absorb. The intricacy of it all makes it one that should be a must-read for those who want to try something a little different.

From Matt's list on creepy stories told in unique ways.

Night Film is a great example of impactful mixed media storytelling. It is a cult horror novel about a journalist’s obsession with a cult horror director. By combining mixed media ‘found objects’ like film posters, interviews, and newspaper articles with the main character’s narration, the novel achieves a high level of suspense as the reader is fully immersed into this dark ghostly world. I admire this book because it speaks to my own love for dark, cult movies; and I believe it is also a great learning text for all writers who want to develop their own mixed media storytelling…

From Katya's list on horror with mixed media format.

Want books like Night Film?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like Night Film.

Browse books like Night Film

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in suicide, investigative journalism, and New York State?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about suicide, investigative journalism, and New York State.

Suicide Explore 91 books about suicide
Investigative Journalism Explore 17 books about investigative journalism
New York State Explore 450 books about New York State