Murder in the Snow

By Gladys Mitchell,

Book cover of Murder in the Snow

Book description

This classic crime treat is the perfect Christmas gift for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Ngaio Marsh.

First published in 1950 as Groaning Spinney.

'A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' Guardian

Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Murder in the Snow as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

As much as I love mysteries that are all done and dusted in a weekend, I also enjoy the longer, slower type of whodunit where the plot unfolds over weeks and even months. Murder in the Snow kicks off at Christmastime with a murdered thug, a missing housekeeper, and a possible ghost, but psychoanalyst and amateur detective Mrs. Bradley sticks around to solve the crime.

Bradley is often compared to Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and appeared in sixty-six novels over half a century. In contrast to Agatha Christie’s famous heroine, Mrs. Bradley is a rather witchy and sarcastic character, but…

From Benedict's list on overlooked classic Christmas whodunits.

Want books like Murder in the Snow?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 80 books like Murder in the Snow.

Browse books like Murder in the Snow

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Christmas, psychoanalysis, and detectives?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Christmas, psychoanalysis, and detectives.

Christmas Explore 250 books about Christmas
Psychoanalysis Explore 96 books about psychoanalysis
Detectives Explore 2,727 books about detectives