Mother of God

By Paul Rosolie,

Book cover of Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey Into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Book description

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie’s extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon—a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this endangered land and presents…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Mother of God as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

No one should make a trip to Peru--whether physically or via literature--without visiting the Amazon Jungle, which makes up 60% of Peru’s territory and is a whole world unto itself. The Upper Amazon is the Earth’s final frontier, where uncontacted Amerindians still roam, and that contains some of the richest biodiversity on Earth. This book will take you right into the thick of it.

From Kim's list on the amazing country of Peru.

Want books like Mother of God?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Mother of God.

Browse books like Mother of God

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the Amazon River, Peru, and the Amazon rainforest?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the Amazon River, Peru, and the Amazon rainforest.

The Amazon River Explore 17 books about the Amazon River
Peru Explore 44 books about Peru
The Amazon Rainforest Explore 17 books about the Amazon rainforest