Jada Jones

By Kelly Starling Lyons, Vanessa Brantley-Newton (illustrator),

Book cover of Jada Jones: Rock Star

Book description

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book.

When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add to her…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Jada Jones as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

With pockets full of rocks and a purple-dragon T-shirt, science-loving Jada Jones makes her debut in this early chapter book series. When her best friend moves away, school is the last place Jada wants to be, until her teacher announces a project about rocks and minerals. The only problem—she’s in a group with two BFF’s who don’t seem to like her or her ideas. Readers will love reading about Jada’s journey to new friendships and becoming a fourth-grade rock star—setting her up for new challenges in subsequent titles. I love the fact that Lyons created a science-loving girl.

From Laurie's list on laugh-out-loud chapters.

Fourth-grader Jada’s best friend, Mari, just moved away. On top of missing Mari, Jada is having issues with another girl in her class, Simone. Jada wants to be friends, but Simone keeps shutting her out. This book tackles how unsettling it can feel when friend groups change. Another thing I love about the Jada Jones series is its STEM focus. In Rock Star, Jada shares her interest in cool rocks with her class. Opening up about her passion is part of what helps her make it through her emotional rough patch in one piece.    

From Kathryn's list on early chapter books about big feelings.

Want books like Jada Jones?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 98 books like Jada Jones.

Browse books like Jada Jones

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in best friends, school, and African Americans?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about best friends, school, and African Americans.

Best Friends Explore 82 books about best friends
School Explore 258 books about school
African Americans Explore 732 books about African Americans