Flight of the Sparrow

By Amy Belding Brown,

Book cover of Flight of the Sparrow: A Novel of Early America

Book description

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter.

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Flight of the Sparrow as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

I could see this story unfolding in front of my eyes as I read. I didn’t want to stop reading.

The story flowed, was ‘true” to history, about real events and people, and full of realistic human emotions and conflict. I found the prose vivid and gripping, and the portrayal of the early settlers and Native American community well balanced.

There was great tension in the plot and between the two main characters that ended in a plausible way.

This is based on an actual captive woman in the early Colonial years. Since the topic was the subject of my thesis (Captive Or Captivated) I was enthralled in the way that the author brought the true story to life as fiction. Great historical accuracy and detail as well as a story sure to be remembered for a very long time.

From Lee's list on Native American romantic suspense.

Want books like Flight of the Sparrow?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Flight of the Sparrow.

Browse books like Flight of the Sparrow

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Colonial America, American Indians, and Massachusetts?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Colonial America, American Indians, and Massachusetts.

Colonial America Explore 51 books about Colonial America
American Indians Explore 217 books about American Indians
Massachusetts Explore 136 books about Massachusetts