Finding Junie Kim

By Ellen Oh,

Book cover of Finding Junie Kim

Book description

For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina's Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents' extraordinary strength and finds her voice. Inspired…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Finding Junie Kim as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

An intergenerational story about a young girl, Junie Kim, who finds the strength to face up to the bullying and racism in school thanks to the stories shared by her grandparents is heartbreaking and inspiring. 

Though this story is set in North America, the flashbacks to Korea during the war between the North and South are chilling and authentic.  

It was fascinating to read about the Korean War and the struggles of the masses as they tried to escape to the West in search of a better life for themselves and their families. It also gave me a sense of…

Want books like Finding Junie Kim?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Finding Junie Kim.

Browse books like Finding Junie Kim

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Korean Americans, racism, and the Korean War?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Korean Americans, racism, and the Korean War.

Korean Americans Explore 31 books about Korean Americans
Racism Explore 187 books about racism
The Korean War Explore 50 books about the Korean War