The Stitchers

By Lorien Lawrence,

Book cover of The Stitchers

Book description

"The chills come guaranteed." -Stephen King
The start of a spine-tingling new horror series perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Goosebumps.

The spine-chilling middle-grade horror that Stephen King called "the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot summer day, because the chills come guaranteed"-now in…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked The Stitchers as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The Stitchers is the first book in the Fright Watch series and any one of them would be the perfect Halloween read. But let’s be real. Old people are scary.

Quinn knows there’s something off about her neighbors. The Oldies have lived in the neighborhood for as long as anyone can remember, and yet they never seem to get any older. If Quinn’s dad was still alive, she knows they’d be coming up with theories: Are they vampires? Aliens? Who knows! The answer is worse than she imagined. When Quinn sees one of the Oldies jogging, she knows she recognizes…

From Darcy's list on Halloween for middle grade readers.

As someone who has lost someone very close to them, I immediately connected with the main character in The Stitchers. Creepy mysteries, authentic friendships, and unique family dynamics are always something I enjoy, but the subtle and seamless way grief and loss are tackled were meaningful to me. In reading this story, I realized while we may never fully get over losing someone special, there are ways to celebrate and keep our loved ones alive in our hearts and memories.  

From Daka's list on dealing with grief, loss, and fear.

Want books like The Stitchers?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 91 books like The Stitchers.

Browse books like The Stitchers

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Halloween, vampires, and Christmas?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Halloween, vampires, and Christmas.

Halloween Explore 92 books about Halloween
Vampires Explore 275 books about vampires
Christmas Explore 248 books about Christmas