The Only Kayak

By Kim Heacox,

Book cover of The Only Kayak: A Journey into the Heart of Alaska

Book description

In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too,…

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked The Only Kayak as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Though this book is 17 years old, it is still a compelling memoir about a young man’s journey to find his “place” in Alaska, and the exploits he has along the way. Heacox describes in elegant detail his paddling adventures, encounters with wildlife, his work as a ranger, and his struggle with humanity and how we are all, including himself, tampering with the natural world we love. A wonderful personal adventure interspersed with rich characters, history, and internal conflict.

Want books like The Only Kayak?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The Only Kayak.

Browse books like The Only Kayak

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in environmental issues, environmentalism, and travel?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about environmental issues, environmentalism, and travel.

Environmental Issues Explore 30 books about environmental issues
Environmentalism Explore 110 books about environmentalism
Travel Explore 167 books about travel