The End of East

By Jen Sookfong Lee,

Book cover of The End of East

Book description

In the tradition of Amy Tan and Jhumpa Lahiri, a moving portrait of three generations of family living in Vancouver's Chinatown

From Knopf Canada's New Face of Fiction program--launching grounds for Yann Martel's Life of Pi and Ann-Marie MacDonald's Fall on Your Knees--comes this powerfully evocative novel.

At age eighteen,…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The End of East as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Jen Sookfong has written a debut novel that held my attention throughout. She describes three generations of a Chinese-Canadian family in Vancouver beginning in 1913 when Chan Seid Quan emigrates to Vancouver at the age of 17. Years later after his death at age 94, his grand-daughter, Samantha, is forced to leave Montreal in order to take care of her mother in Vancouver. She feels resentment until she begins to delve into her family’s past and discovers alienation and hardship. Author Sookfong is an expert on immigration and the fate of many Chinese people. This is a beautiful tale of…

From Valerie's list on fiction by British Columbia authors.

Want books like The End of East?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The End of East.

Browse books like The End of East

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in British Columbia, Vancouver Canada, and Montreal?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about British Columbia, Vancouver Canada, and Montreal.

British Columbia Explore 47 books about British Columbia
Vancouver Canada Explore 32 books about Vancouver Canada
Montreal Explore 19 books about Montreal