The Emperor Of Scent

By Chandler Burr,

Book cover of The Emperor Of Scent: A Story of Perfume, Obsession and the Last Mystery of the Senses

Book description

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Emperor Of Scent as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

At the center of this rollicking account is the larger-than-life figure of Luca Turin, a perfume aficionado and renegade biophysicist with an uncannily sensitive nose.

Burr followed him as he traded blows with the scientific establishment over his unorthodox theory of how smell works. What emerges is a profound appreciation of just how little understood this sense still is, and how varied and potent the smells of the world are to someone as attentive to them as Turin.

From Theresa's list on perfume and scent.

Want books like The Emperor Of Scent?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The Emperor Of Scent.

Browse books like The Emperor Of Scent

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in London, murder, and murder mystery?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about London, murder, and murder mystery.

London Explore 817 books about London
Murder Explore 961 books about murder
Murder Mystery Explore 505 books about murder mystery