The Caliph's House

By Tahir Shah,

Book cover of The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca

Book description

In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked The Caliph's House as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Shah, a self-proclaimed “broke writer,” somehow affords a Moroccan mansion with maids, gardeners, and endless renovations. He doesn’t bother to develop his wife and kids as characters—they get even less attention than an extra in a movie. But at least you get to see Morocco through his self-obsessed eyes, which, fortunately, pay a lot of attention to detail. His immaculate use of sensory details will give you a traveling experience for even less than a Ryan Air flight. The book is a prime choice for anyone who wants to dive into Moroccan culture with all its superstitions. 

Want books like The Caliph's House?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like The Caliph's House.

Browse books like The Caliph's House

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Morocco, France, and explorers?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Morocco, France, and explorers.

Morocco Explore 45 books about Morocco
France Explore 884 books about France
Explorers Explore 100 books about explorers