The 13th Gift

By Joanne Huist Smith,

Book cover of The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle

Book description

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.

After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked The 13th Gift as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The 13th Gift is a mother’s memoir of an unforgettable Christmas. Just before the holidays, her husband suddenly dies. The family is devastated and lost; he was the glue in their family of five. The numb existence that sets in isolates them from one another. Christmas seems a bother, except to the young daughter. Then, a gift mysteriously appears on their porch.

I was pulled into this family’s touching day-by-day return from the abyss, thanks to the author’s storytelling and because I was reminded how powerful an act of kindness can be—and how simple. I think this true story…

From Bernice's list on that touch our heart at Christmas.

Want books like The 13th Gift?

Our community of 7,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like The 13th Gift.

Browse books like The 13th Gift

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Christmas, Broadway musicals, and miracles?

7,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Christmas, Broadway musicals, and miracles.

Christmas Explore 161 books about Christmas
Broadway Musicals Explore 113 books about Broadway musicals
Miracles Explore 10 books about miracles