By Aeschylus, Christopher Collard (translator),

Book cover of Oresteia

Book description

Agamemnon *Libation Bearers *Eumenides Aeschylus' Oresteia is the only trilogy to survive from Greek tragedy, and the religious and moral ideas it enacts afterwards influenced a great dramatic genre, as well as giving its three plays their lasting significance. In this family history, Fate and the gods decree that each…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Oresteia as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

My journey to specialising in gender and revenge in ancient Athens began when I read this trilogy of tragedies by Aeschylus in the original ancient Greek. These plays captivated me because of their stunningly powerful and breathtakingly beautiful use of imagery and language.

The characters are equally striking, especially the clever and determined queen Clytemnestra, a ruthless and duplicitous killer who murders her husband in the bath. In turn, her son Orestes is faced with the dreadful prospect of killing his own mother to avenge the death of his father. Performing matricide brings forth the terrifying Erinyes, goddesses of vengeance,…

From Fiona's list on women and revenge in Greek tragedy.

The three extant plays in Aeschylus' Orestaia trilogy - Agamemnon, Libation Bearers, and Eumenides - form one of the cornerstones of western literature. Written in 5th century BCE Athens, they tell the story of a family, in which Fate and the Gods decree that each generation repeat the crimes and endure the suffering of their forebears. All classical Greek drama was, in some way, political and these are no exception, showing how, with the help of Athena a new system of laws, determined by men, can halt the never-ending cycles of violence.

Some of the poetry is stunning. And from…

From Julie's list on Delphi and its oracle.

Want books like Oresteia?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 84 books like Oresteia.

Browse books like Oresteia

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in drama, Delphi, and presidential biography?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about drama, Delphi, and presidential biography.

Drama Explore 70 books about drama
Delphi Explore 8 books about Delphi
Presidential Biography Explore 18 books about presidential biography