One Small Hop

By Madelyn Rosenberg,

Book cover of One Small Hop

Book description

Perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen's classic Hoot, this humorous adventure story set in a not-so-distant future celebrates the important differences we can make with small, brave acts.

When Ahab and his friends find a bullfrog in their town -- a real, live bullfrog, possibly the last bullfrog in North…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked One Small Hop as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This middle-grade satire was one of my favorite reads of 2021! In the not-too-distant future, seventh-grader Ahab and his friends discover what just might be the last living bullfrog in the United States. Hoping to save the species, they decide not to give Alph the frog to authorities. Instead, the crew takes off on a not-quite legal bike trip to find a mate for Alph. In the process, author Madelyn Rosenberg shows us the world as it might be, if we don’t make an effort to save the climate. A bumbling environmental police force and indoor theme park/recreation center had…

From Laura's list on to inspire kid activists.

Want books like One Small Hop?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like One Small Hop.

Browse books like One Small Hop

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in climate change, environmental degradation, and threatened species?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about climate change, environmental degradation, and threatened species.

Climate Change Explore 190 books about climate change
Environmental Degradation Explore 25 books about environmental degradation
Threatened Species Explore 21 books about threatened species