North of Normal

By Cea Sunrise Person,

Book cover of North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Unusual Family, and How I Survived Both

Book description

Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person’s compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness—a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival.

In the late 1960s, riding the crest…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked North of Normal as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

The full title of this memoir by Cea Sunrise Person is North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Counter Culture Family, and How I Survived Both, which basically sums up this fascinating and wild ride through Cea’s unconventional upbringing in a pot-smoking, free-loving, clothing-optional, canvas tipi-sleeping, non-conforming family in the Canadian wilderness. Gaining this unique view into the psychology and emotional fallout of the eccentric family lifestyle was shocking, heart-breaking, and inspirational all at once. You will never read another book quite like it.

From Danielle's list on hidden gems by Canadian writers.

Want books like North of Normal?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like North of Normal.

Browse books like North of Normal

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Canada, childhood, and dysfunctional families?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Canada, childhood, and dysfunctional families.

Canada Explore 421 books about Canada
Childhood Explore 194 books about childhood
Dysfunctional Families Explore 109 books about dysfunctional families