American Betiya

By Anuradha D. Rajurkar,

Book cover of American Betiya

Book description

A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson.

Praise for American Betiya
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of 2022
A YALSA Best Best Fiction…

Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

2 authors picked American Betiya as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Much as the young adult phase of life is defined by establishing your unique identity, separate from that derived by your school, community, or family, for South Asians this is always a dilemma. South Asians are brought up with very strict parental controls, even though they might want to break away, at a psychological level, they struggle with the idea of sub-consciously pleasing their parents because their own identity is so intrinsically linked to that of their parents. Anuradha explores these very bold, disturbing, and realistic themes that send her protagonist, Rani through an inner journey of emotional turmoil.

From Reenita's list on South Asian young adults.

When Rani Kelkar secretly dates the tattooed, charismatic, artistic Oliver—her mother’s worst nightmare—cultures collide. This exquisitely written novel explores appropriation, identity, and self-respect. Bigotry can show its ugly head in micro-aggressions and Anuradha Rajurkar does a phenomenal job illuminating this form of hatred. An eye-opening and thought-provoking novel, readers will recognize that sometimes speaking up for oneself is one of the most important ways to fight against bigotry, hatred, and injustice.

Want books like American Betiya?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like American Betiya.

Browse books like American Betiya

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in Illinois, Indian Americans, and dating?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about Illinois, Indian Americans, and dating.

Illinois Explore 67 books about Illinois
Indian Americans Explore 19 books about Indian Americans
Dating Explore 43 books about dating