Worm Loves Worm

By J.J. Austrian, Mike Curato (illustrator),

Book cover of Worm Loves Worm

Book description

Perfect for fans of And Tango Makes Three and The Sissy Duckling, this irresistible picture book is a celebration of love in all its splendid forms from debut author J. J. Austrian and the acclaimed author-illustrator of Little Elliot, Big City, Mike Curato. You are cordially invited to celebrate the…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Worm Loves Worm as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

In this story, two worms fall in love with each other. When they decide to get married, their friends ask who will wear the dress and who will wear the tux. In the end, it doesn’t matter what they wear, because worm loves worm.

I love the simple, noncomplicated theme that no matter who you want to spend your life with, love is love. The illustrations are delightful and charming. 

From Mark's list on GLBTQ+ love story picture books.

Worm and Worm decide to get married, with a supportive group of bugs. They have a few problems: they don’t have fingers, so how can they wear rings? And they both want to be the bride! In fact, they both want to be the groom, too. “We’ll just change how it’s done,” says Worm, and so they get married. A cute and funny story with delightful illustrations.

Want books like Worm Loves Worm?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 97 books like Worm Loves Worm.

Browse books like Worm Loves Worm

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in spiders, insects, and weddings?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about spiders, insects, and weddings.

Spiders Explore 11 books about spiders
Insects Explore 24 books about insects
Weddings Explore 31 books about weddings