Unearthing

By Kyo Maclear,

Book cover of Unearthing: A Story of Tangled Love and Family Secrets

Book description

For readers of Crying in H Mart and Wintering, an unforgettable memoir about a family secret revealed by a DNA test, the lessons learned in its aftermath, and the indelible power of love.

Three months after Kyo Maclear's father dies in December 2018, she gets the results of a DNA…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

2 authors picked Unearthing as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This is a book I read quite recently that reminded me of why I love gardens: because they teach us about ourselves and offer an opportunity to connect to those around us.

In Unearthing, Maclear unpacks a family secret and reconnects with her mother, but she tells the story through plants and gardens. It’s a book that demonstrates how entwined our human lives are with the natural world.

From Jessica's list on change how you think about plants.

This memoir stuck with me for weeks after finishing it. Maclear leads us on an intimate reexamining of everything about her life after a DNA test reveals that her deceased father is not her biological one.

Maclear’s quest takes many twists; I genuinely had no idea how this journey would turn out. There is such raw vulnerability in Maclear’s telling, which is seeded with beautiful metaphors of gardening and growth.

Even though I do not have the same sort of storied past of Maclear’s family (her mom was once good friends with Yoko Ono, and her father was a journalist…

Want books like Unearthing?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Unearthing.

Browse books like Unearthing

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the Vietnam War, DNA, and presidential biography?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the Vietnam War, DNA, and presidential biography.

The Vietnam War Explore 233 books about the Vietnam War
DNA Explore 38 books about DNA
Presidential Biography Explore 19 books about presidential biography