Gods of Jade and Shadow

By Silvia Moreno-Garcia,

Book cover of Gods of Jade and Shadow

Book description

'This is historical fantasy at its best' S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

3 authors picked Gods of Jade and Shadow as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

This is a beautifully written and inventive fantasy novel, based on Mayan mythology and set in the Jazz Age in Mexico.

A spunky Cinderella-esque heroine is forced to accompany the deposed God of the Dead on his quest to regain his throne, and slowly realizes that his quest offers her a chance to escape her tiny village and experience the world she’s only dreamt of seeing. She comes into her own as she pits her wits against a variety of human and inhuman opponents.

I loved it so much, I re-read it as soon as I finished.

Gods of Jade and Shadow starts as a Mexican Cinderella story, except that the fairy godmother is a Mayan god of death.

Not sold yet? What if I told you the god of death is also Prince Charming?

It’s an awesome premise.

I also enjoyed the setting. The story takes place in Jazz Age Mexico, shortly after the Mexican Revolution and at a time when pop culture was “all about the United States” and “reproducing its women, its dances, its fast pace.” Yet there’s far more old than new here. Mayan mythology threads throughout.

I didn’t always love the pace,…

Okay, maybe this one’s not so much a wintery book as a bright summery book, but I couldn’t leave it off this list. Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s books are consistently amazing, but this one is my favorite. A woman assigned to clean the floors of her grandfather’s florid estate and dreaming of something more finds a mysterious wooden box, and opening it releases the spirit of the Mayan god of death who’s been imprisoned there. He enlists her help freeing his realm from his treacherous brother, and if she succeeds, she can have everything she’s ever wanted—namely, freedom. Set in Jazz Age…

Want books like Gods of Jade and Shadow?

Our community of 10,000+ authors has personally recommended 94 books like Gods of Jade and Shadow.

Browse books like Gods of Jade and Shadow

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in the personification of death, quests, and Mexico?

10,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about the personification of death, quests, and Mexico.

The Personification Of Death Explore 12 books about the personification of death
Quests Explore 48 books about quests
Mexico Explore 206 books about Mexico