Breathers

By S.G. Browne,

Book cover of Breathers: A Zombie's Lament

Book description

For fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Christopher Moore, a hilarious debut novel about life (and love) after death.

Meet Andy Warner, a recently deceased everyman and newly minted zombie. Resented by his parents, abandoned by his friends, and reviled by a society that no longer considers him human, Andy is…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

1 author picked Breathers as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Imagine coming back from the dead only to realize the world doesn't want you: You move in with parents who are disgusted by you, random strangers on the street throw food or pull mean jokes on you and your friends, and being caught out past your curfew sends you to the dog pound. That's the life that Andy Warner reanimates into after a fatal accident. It's not all bad, though. At least he's got some friends at the Undead Anonymous support group, including the dead-sexy Rita, and Ray, a guy whose “venison” seems to come with some miraculous healing abilities.…

From T.L.'s list on with zombie main characters.

Want books like Breathers?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like Breathers.

Browse books like Breathers

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in dark comedy, zombies, and presidential biography?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about dark comedy, zombies, and presidential biography.

Dark Comedy Explore 283 books about dark comedy
Zombies Explore 135 books about zombies
Presidential Biography Explore 19 books about presidential biography