All That Remains

By Sue Black,

Book cover of All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

Book description

Book of the Year, Saltire Literary Awards
A CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Month

For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, Kathy Reichs, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality.

Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has…

Shepherd is reader supported. When you buy books, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Why read it?

3 authors picked All That Remains as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

I bought this book when I was doing some research for a project, expecting it to be very dry but was happily surprised at the humor and style of her writing. She is extremely knowledgeable about her field and has helped solve hundreds of cases, but you won’t hear any humble bragging. She is all about the teamwork that goes into solving criminal cases, which makes me respect her even more.

I learned so much more about anthropology from this book than I did working at my job, and in a thoroughly entertaining way. This is easily a book I…

I was drawn to this book initially because Baroness Sue Black, formerly professor of Anatomy forensic anthropology at Dundee where I did an MLitt degree in crime fiction and forensic investigation.

It was an unexpected pleasure. Not at all macabre or gruesome – alright maybe in bits. But essentially, I loved this book because it’s such a personal reflection of life from someone whose daily business is to deal with the dead. I found her descriptions of how the body works and in the end the processes that happen when we die fascinating.

Humane, compassionate, and thought provoking. A great…

I loved this book, as it confirmed for me the importance of forensic anthropology as a specialty, helping us access information from human remains, to assist in disentangling a person's history after death.

It was heartening to feel the respect shown to the dead ooze from every page and it reminded me of 'Albert' (that's what I named the gentleman who had kindly donated his body to science for me to learn human anatomy as a medical student).

I planted a tree in his memory. It was fascinating, informative, and entertaining in good measure. I am a psychiatrist, but I…

Want books like All That Remains?

Our community of 11,000+ authors has personally recommended 100 books like All That Remains.

Browse books like All That Remains

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in death, forensic science, and forensic anthropology?

11,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about death, forensic science, and forensic anthropology.

Death Explore 361 books about death
Forensic Science Explore 35 books about forensic science
Forensic Anthropology Explore 14 books about forensic anthropology