Three Things I Know Are True

By Betty Culley,

Book cover of Three Things I Know Are True

Book description

Fans of Jandy Nelson and Marieke Nijkamp will love this deeply moving novel in verse about the aftermath of a gun accident.

Life changes forever for Liv when her older brother, Jonah, accidentally shoots himself with his best friend Clay's father's gun. Now Jonah needs round-the-clock care just to stay…


Shepherd is reader supported. We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our website. (learn more)

Why read it?

1 author picked Three Things I Know Are True as one of their favorite books. Why do they recommend it?

Teen protagonist, Liv, narrates this heartfelt tale in verse, revealing how her world is impacted after her older brother, Jonah, accidentally shoots himself with his best friend Clay's father’s gun. Clay lives just across the street from Liv and Jonah. When their mom sues Clay’s parents, tensions escalate, and my heart broke for Liv, who is caught in the middle. 

It’s tempting to read this story in one sitting because Liv’s voice draws you right in, but the characters and world are so well-built, you want to linger with them longer. This story feels like a conversation with a friend…

Want books like Three Things I Know Are True?

Our community of 6,000+ authors has personally recommended 10 books like Three Things I Know Are True.

Browse books like Three Things I Know Are True

5 book lists we think you will like!

Interested in suicide, murder, and Europe?

6,000+ authors have recommended their favorite books and what they love about them. Browse their picks for the best books about suicide, murder, and Europe.

Suicide Explore 97 books about suicide
Murder Explore 451 books about murder
Europe Explore 594 books about Europe